More Game & Watches

Today was a good news, bad news kinda of day.  In the end both cancelled each other out, creating a sort of eerie balance that I’m not yet comfortable with.  There’s probably a zen lesson to be learnt in there somewhere, but if so, it’s entirely passed me by.

The good news came in the form of 4 new Game & Watches (Donkey Kong, Donkey Kong 2, Fire Attack and Safebuster), some in better condition than othersbut all welcome additions to the collection (which is starting to look less like a vintage gaming collection and more like a Game & Watch collection with a Sega Master system on the side….)

The bad news came in the form of learning my Panasonic 3DO is going to take three months to arrive from Japan over sea mail, which – based on the fact it left Japan on the 2nd of this month – should mean it’ll arrive sometime around THE END OF THE FREAKING WORLD.

Sea mail in action - the standard delivery method for the batshit insane.

Three months!

I am unimpressed, and can only imagine that sea mail takes so long because a solitary Japanese postal worker is employed to swim each item to the destination country before returning to Japan to pick up the next one. And he has no legs. And no arms. And is blind.  Never mind, I’ll be patient. I don’t really have a choice, and it’s not like I don’t have eleventy billion other consoles to keep me occupied in the meantime 😛

3 Responses to More Game & Watches

  1. BRIK says:

    Three months is way too long to wait for something that is of that calibre of awesomness. Wasn’t there an option to fly it?

  2. amiga4eva says:

    In retrospect I probably could have paid more to get it flown over, but the eBay ad was very firm on sea mail being the only option the seller would use. I had no idea it would take so long. All I can hope, is that the long wait enhances the enjoyment on arrival 🙂

  3. BRIK says:

    Hopefully, one is on my to buy list as well. The only thing that’s been putting me off is that I’ve got to get a step down converter as well (as well as my lack of money).

Leave a Reply

