Variety is the spice of life

My box of varied game carts arrived today.  There’s nothing more satisfying than a cardboard box containing carts for no less than 6 different systems.  I got to try out Football Soccer for the Vectrex, and while I don’t usually like Soccer games, this one had that undeniable Vectrex charm.

I think that’s the power of the Vectrex, that the particular game you’re playing doens’t really matter, all things are appealing on the vector based box of love.

I lost to the computer 4 nil, but had a cracking good time doing so.  I feel as though I can’t really let myself enjoy the game though, simply because if I did I’d thrash the Vectrex joystick to breaking point.

LEFT, RIGHT, UP, UP, LEFT, DISINTEGRATE.

Awww.

The picture with this post, in case you’re wondering, is my makeshift attempt at using the cool light fixture I picked up at a second hand office furniture place for $20.  It makes a nice light for displaying stuff on a shelf.  Eventually I’ll get all handyman on it and screw it to the shelf permanently, but for now it’s just leaning there, showing off an Atari 2600 and a few choice game boxes.

One Response to Variety is the spice of life

  1. Light fixtures in retro gaming collections are awesome. Just saying 🙂

Leave a Reply

